waking up slow



7:02am
and the Christmas tree’s
still winking open the day,
(de)lights playing against fragrant fir.

she stirs,
fuzzy pup soft
and not quite ready
for the absence
of down.

Prompted by Miz Q, day 7

This entry was posted in Miz Q January, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to waking up slow

  1. julespaige says:

    ‘fuzzy pup soft’ -‘absence of down’.

    I guess the birds could be having a go…
    Which reminds me I need to refill the thing.
    We’ve got a hot tot spot to attend.

  2. Misky says:

    Won’t you miss the scent of your tree when you take down the decorations? We took ours down yesterday.

    • whimsygizmo says:

      I took down all the downstairs stuff (tree, decorations, all but some white twinkly lights I am keeping up)…but I can’t seem to let go of the upstairs tree just yet. I love falling asleep looking at it. It’s dead. Super dead. But it still smells wonderful, and looks so pretty.

  3. Cello Jolie says:

    Well you know how I read this: “playing against fragrant fir” 😛

  4. Mine remains for a few more days.I do not surrender Christmas that easily. Music Choice still plays “Sounds of the Season” and iHeart radio sustains me the rest of the way. Two major Christmas projects to finish, so I’ll use that to inspire and provide some drive. Always remember, i carry christmas with me (i carry it in my heart)

    https://iamsantaclaus.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/not-getting-around-to-putting-christmas-away/

Use your words.

