Knowing Un



There’s a particular familiarity to our unknown
pieces, a quiet industry to our bold young
bones. Take the strange and silent man
over there in the corner. His song is at
the cleaner’s, but you can take his
smile six miles to the post office,
and then dance on your desk.

 

 

Miz Q gave us a starting point, an interesting photograph title. I used it as a Golden Shovel (if you read down the last word of each line, you’ll see the title.) 

 

This entry was posted in Miz Q January, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Knowing Un

  1. Shawna says:

    no-wing un,
    no-win gun,
    … ooh, “K-now”-ing UN. (That’s when you’re saying, “I’m okay now” … and figuring out how to live in/out your un without being in a messed-up place.)

    I really like how each line means one thing, but then you turn it into something else with the beginning of the next line.

    I love that the first line is secretly, “There’s a particular familiarity to our un, known.” (party? cue lair, le air; family air-ity)

    “pieces” of course is also always “Pisces” … Then I see “Pisces bones,” stacked. That makes me miss my high school besties, a couple of whom were Piscene.

    Then it also says “Peace is a quiet industry.” Then at the end of the line, it says “be old-young.” Or “Be old, young.”

    “There’s pi(e); seize/kiss bon es.”

    “Bones: Take the strange.”

    “His song I sat over there in the corner.” I’m picturing his song having been placed in time out by his teacher or mommy. 🙂

    “The cleaner es (but[t] you can TA kiss).” Hmmm. If “YA” is “young adult,” then what is “TA”? LOL. “Tongue adult.” 😛 Tang adult, Terabithian adult, Tasmanian adult, well, obviously we could go on forever.

    I love this line by itself: “smile six miles to the post office” … I have to do this today. It’s frickin’ FREEZING today. 25 at the moment, I think … which is WAY too cold for Southern-girl me. I need constant July, thank you very much. Anyway, I HAVE to drop something in the mail. Speaking of which, my husband still hasn’t checked the mail, and I still haven’t gotten your card. Grrr. I will get it today, or make him go. So my point is this: I think you’re telling me to smile six miles wide all the way to the post office, even though I’ll be miserably cold. 🙂

    … And then come home and dance on my desk, which surely is figurative, since I’m so clumsy and my knees hurt and I would surely destroy myself in trying to do so literally.

  2. erbiage says:

    De, i really dig this. great interpretation. Familiarity of our unknown pieces, fantastic! we have carried that around with us forever, yet we haven’t ever looked at it. familiar, yet unknown.

  3. this is the way to ace this prompt. the golden shovel work well here

  4. Love your style, love your words, love your muse and have missed them all! Way to go girl!

  5. julespaige says:

    The end word acrostic – is that what a golden shovel is? Cool.
    I did the front letters of the title down…
    “Hans” Down?

    I like that “his song is at the cleaners…”
    I remember when my family (in younger days) made weekly use of such a business. 🙂

  6. Will says:

    I enjoy what you guys are usually up too.
    Such clever work and exposure! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys
    to my own blogroll.

Use your words.

