Stolen Shine



Dragon me a song
full of fire, brimstoned in its
own dark shine. Raven me
a shadowed hope, a feathered
sky. Scrim me a promise, star
-dotted i’s and oceaned breeze
tease. Oh me and know me,
and trinket me loose into this
sun-shriked sea.

 

..

Lill has us verbifying everything in sight, over at dVerse. Come play! 

This entry was posted in dVerse poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Stolen Shine

  1. Wow what a gorgeous set of words to verbify… dragon is a spectacular verb.

  2. lillian says:

    I love everything about this….especially “scrim me a promise.” I’ve always loved the idea of a scrim and use that word sometimes myself. It works magically as a verb. And “trinket me loose” – those two words juxtaposed “trinket” as a verb and “loose” — trinkets are seen with little value, just litle ditties and using the word loose gets that across so well.
    Love it all! 🙂
    So fun reading everyone’s takes on this!

  3. Glenn Buttkus says:

    A gem of brevity & joy; nice rocking of the prompt. I think I verbifed about a dozen nouns. There seems to be a never-ending flow of possibilities.

  4. welshstream says:

    ‘Raven me a shadow of hope’ …… wonderful, wonderful. Great piece of writing.

  5. Dragon me a song…wow…Raven Me a shadowed hope…wow….but then this…OH me…..I cannot express how much that line went right through me…Oh me…Oh my!

  6. as always, I admire your wonderful use of words

  7. Great word play. 🙂

  8. sanaarizvi says:

    Raven me a shadowed hope, a feathered sky.. sigh.. now that’s gorgeous!❤️

  9. Candy says:

    this wordly challenge was made for you. perfect!

  10. Iris says:

    “Shine” is your favorite word lately. 🙂

    “star
    -dotted i’s and oceaned breeze
    tease” … Your notebook must be a beauty to behold.

    “Raven” and “trinket” are fantastic verbs.

  11. jaybluepoems says:

    That is absolutely gorgeous! “Oh me…” “trinket me loose”… how absolutely beautiful. Well done…

  12. I was going to pick out my favourite bits, but it’s all my favourite bit. It reads like a charm, somehow. I really really like it.

  13. frankhubeny says:

    Nice first line making a verb out of dragon: “Dragon me a song”

  14. Lovely words! I like all your new verbs.

  15. Mish says:

    LOVE it! Star dotted “i”s ? How clever. Using trinket as a verb…priceless!

  16. This prompt made me think of you, immediately. LOVE ALL the verbs you used in this!

  17. kim881 says:

    Magical, De: dragons, rainbows and scrim – I used to have some scrimshaw but wasn’t keen on owning a piece of whalebone. My favourite lines:
    ‘Oh me and know me,
    and trinket me loose into this
    sun-shriked sea.’

  18. Wondered what you’d do with this challenge, and you have not (never do) disappointed. This was custom made for you, Dear! You poem so well!

Use your words.

