I will be a boring woman, with my wonderful houses.

 


See me? Gray
hair flowing in the breeze, listening
for the quiet song that still makes the world
go ’round? That window there’s my
favorite of all my places, all these heart
-traces, cobbled homes I’ve tumbled
from seaglass, stone.

This cottage is built of books,
and salt. The ocean’s very near. The sky
is clear unless the day is gray – in which
I empty my fogful heart and start
all over again. Grin
at that silly sun.

Am I boring
you? This wild life rises, sets,
and I sit here still. Walk sometimes. Write
always. That’s it. Sit with me awhile, if you wish.
Stay. I’ve got all day.

 

..
Prompted by Miz Q. The title is a seed line from her list. This poem wanted to be both shorter, and longer. I herded it in a bit, but let it roam. 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I will be a boring woman, with my wonderful houses.

  1. I think I must be boring, too. Viva la boring 🙂

  2. Shawna says:

    This is gorgeous!!! That hanging “in which” makes me think of Rosemary. 🙂

    favorite:
    “all these heart
    -traces, cobbled homes I’ve tumbled
    from seaglass, stone”

  3. Misky says:

    I think we should put the kettle on and enjoy the view…

  4. All day…all my life. Sigh

  5. Never boring – love this place

  6. blogoratti says:

    Sincere and heart warming thoughts indeed.

  7. julespaige says:

    I’m with you anytime you want company 😉

  8. I like boring. It’s so interesting, especially the way you write it! 😀

  9. Lorraine says:

    cobbled homes I’ve tumbled
    from seaglass, stone.
    This cottage is built of books,
    and salt.
    Beautiful homes constructed by a woman who is definitely NOT boring.

  10. Michael says:

    I think you’ve herded it very cleverly….enjoyed your thoughts..

  11. Sherry Marr says:

    Oh De, I love this so much, especially the house of books and salt with the ocean so near. And VERY soon, mine will be, too!!!!! Did you know I am returning to my beloved ocean within the week???? yippee! Cant wait for the salt and the fog and the song of the waves. And I will be the happiest boring woman ever.

  12. Candy says:

    Move over De, I’m coming to sit with you in your cottage built of books.

  13. A cottage built of books and salt – How could anyone be bored? I love this, De!

Use your words.

