The Nopebook

..

She writes the things she does not want
to do. A “chuckit” list of sorts, a way of

stretch-scribbling her soul, working out
the nots. Her thoughts spill. Fill these

pages in intricate stages of naw and never
-lands. Some in pencil; some in pen. She

draws the lines in broad and fine, in ink
and sand. She supposes her nays might

leave more white space, more room for
praise. Sun-tumbled songs. Breathing.

..

..

This entry was posted in poetic asides poems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Nopebook

  1. Mandie Hines says:

    I feel that the like button is inadequate. Perhaps there should be an exclamation point button. Words fail me in my delight over this piece. So instead, here’s my reaction: !!!

  2. This sounds like a cathartic activity- especially away from people with toes in the sand

  3. lynn__ says:

    Yes, the quest for white space and breathing room…this could be me, yet I seem to gnaw over those “naws”.

  4. erbiage says:

    Working through the nots!!! OMG brilliant! Love it!

    Sent from my iPad

  5. Shawna says:

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE this poem!!! Especially this as a sentence: “Working out the nots, her thoughts spill.”

    That title had me bouncing in my seat. That was SO clever.

  6. I love those last lines – ‘leave more white space, more room for
    praise. Sun-tumbled songs. Breathing.’

Use your words.

