sea glass


..

tumble me back to the places where
water kisses land, where sand is
fairy dust in hungry hands.

salt-shine me to reflect this crazy
sky, this wandered-by wisp of
cloud, this out-loud sigh

that says
wish you were
…………..(still)
here.

 

 

 

..
Mish has us pondering mementos over at dVerse. Come play! 

This entry was posted in dVerse poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to sea glass

  1. frankhubeny says:

    I enjoyed the sound of this and the idea of sand being fairy dust.

  2. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Beach combing is always fun–& more’s the better if one finds pretty glass globes or pieces of the same & that from Asia. On our WA state beaches we picked up Japanese toys & stuff for several years.

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Glenn, I know I have heard of tsunami years where that was crazy-true. Tons of stuff, MILES from home. The ocean is such an incredible and miraculous thing, for me. Spanning so much space…and so alive.

  3. Grace says:

    Love that fairy dust, like magic spinning by wisp of clouds ~ Love this one De ~

  4. Mish says:

    Aww, I see we were on similar paths, De.
    Oh how I love “salt-shine me”!

  5. Kathy Reed says:

    It rolls off one’s tongue like a prayer..great imagery, De!

  6. therisa says:

    Love your usage of imagery, here, De, as a metaphor, for your relationship, with a family member or a very close friend.

  7. Love how you used the title here… I think that those dreamlike days at sea can come back when touching what you found

  8. maria says:

    It’s a clever form, De! I love the message behind this piece. Sigh.. so much nostalgia.

  9. Misky says:

    That “out-loud sigh” touched my heart.

  10. lillian says:

    LOVE this! Sea glass inherently carries memories within — what was it, who held it….
    and you’ve made it your memento here. Love especially “salt-shine me.”

  11. annell4 says:

    This poem is heart touching…it touched mine.

  12. So powerful and gorgeous…!!!

  13. Salty sweet. Very poignant, so much feeling packed in.

  14. kim881 says:

    I love the movement in the opening line and the idea of tumbling back into the past with the waves, ‘where sand is
    fairy dust in hungry hands’
    and ‘salt-shine’!

  15. ‘Applauds’
    Couldn’t help but sing this in my head though

  16. Bev says:

    I love the phrases “tumble me back” and “salt shine me”. So very descriptive!

  17. Aching and longing and grief. Beautiful.

  18. ‘Salt-shine me’ is a lovely image, and I adore sea glass.

Use your words.

