Tilt-a-Whirl Girl

The sky’s gone
the color of cotton
candy kissable lips
and French twist
bliss, and she is all
but top of the Ferris
wheel spun. Fun
-house fallen, trick
mirrors and
………………..all.

 

Lill’s taking us for a ride over at dVerse. Come play. 

This entry was posted in dVerse poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Tilt-a-Whirl Girl

  1. violet says:

    I LOVE this. But I hate that ride. I can hardly even watch other people on it.

    The first four lines are awesome. Also, I love the subtle Ferris Bueller reference. I almost named a kid after Sloan. She’s a super babe.

  2. therisa says:

    Can feel my stomach threaten to rebel, on my one and only ride, on the Ferris wheel, when I was 6 years old. Promising myself, never again, would I ride it. Never understood the romance of it, having the ride stop, in mid-air. Guess, I was born, as an old soul.

  3. Not my favorite, I can tell you. The Tilt-a-Whirl, not your poem. Your poems are all thrill rides and I appreciate that in your work, De!

  4. lillian says:

    I once got off the tilt-a-whirl “cart” too early and it spun around and clunked me…I fell right into the middle spokes of the full ride. Frightening. Ever since then, I’m not so much of a tilt-a-whirl girl 😦
    LOVE that cotton candy colored sky 🙂

  5. Angela says:

    Ahh, I can’t do spinny rides anymore! But your words took me there to that feeling in my belly and tricks my eyes would play as I spun spinning. Lovely.

  6. Just Barry says:

    This poem sounds absolutely delicious… it almost ALMOST makes me wanna try the tilt-a-whirl myself. Seriously, you had me at cotton candy kissable lips.

  7. violet says:

    Ooh, now I’m reading the title with “tilt” as a verb. This magical dizzy kiss is taking place when someone tilts “a whirl girl.” Also, at the end, I think you’re drawing out “doll.”

  8. maria says:

    I loveeee that cotton candy kissable lips! ❤ Ferris wheel is one of my least favorites, mainly because I prefer the fast rides. But this piece made me want to ride it again, De! 🎈

  9. rosemawrites says:

    oh the beginning imagery are sooo soooo good! 😀 ❤ ❤ ❤ i love Ferris Wheel! ❤

  10. frankhubeny says:

    The Tilt-a-Whirl spins one around fast but at least it stays close to the ground. The Ferris Wheel is slow but one goes up too high and those seats sway especially at the top. I’ll sit on the side and eat the cotton candy.

  11. Yes to the cotton candy lips… but maybe it’s just a trick of the mirrors.

  12. This left me asking the question, ‘which way is up?’ Dizzyingly good.

  13. Misky says:

    Oh yes, those tricky mirrors. Such great fun!

    >

  14. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Your p;oems is they “great fun”–I could never do the whirly rides; sensitive inner ear they say; but the trick with the Ferris wheel is to do it with you sweetheart, holding hands, nibbling necks, stealing kisses. Your poem gave me a 30 minute grin.

  15. Glenn Buttkus says:

    I do wish we commenters could edit our lousy typing–“Your poem is trey “great fun”,

  16. Cotton candy lips all tilt-a-whirled. Says it all briefly and succinctly!

  17. Imelda says:

    Poor girl (from the perspective of one who dreads rides). 🙂

  18. I loved this! Comparing a girl to the best parts of an amusement park. Clever.

  19. Kir Piccini says:

    All of a sudden I ache for summer, boardwalks and sunburns. ☀

Use your words.

