Etch your name upon my weathered skin

..

,
and i will whisper you a secret
or two, leaf-weave you a song.

carve your heart near mine,
that we might hum-strum

this breeze in tune. my limbs
do not grow tired or numb;

my roots are anchored by
this sun. make a house of

my shade, the way the moon
spills through me. i will hold

the remains of the day (this
smudge of crow, that last small

sigh of sun) toward the sky,
where you and i can breathe it in.

 

..
Mish has offered up a wonderful prompt over at dVerse Poetics. Come play! 

This entry was posted in dVerse poems, moon poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Etch your name upon my weathered skin

  1. frankhubeny says:

    Nice perspective of the tree wanting someone to etch their name, and a heart, on its bark in exchange for a secret.

  2. kanzensakura says:

    Oh De, this is spectacular. truly one of your best. (this smudge of crow, that last small sigh of sun)…what an incredible line this is.

  3. jillys2016 says:

    Nice allusion slipped in there! and you do the form so well, De!

  4. violet says:

    “make a house of
    my shade, the way the moon
    spills through me.”

    How beautiful.

  5. Waltermarks says:

    This wonderful tree lives on. It has provided shade from sun, food for animals, and a place for us to abide. Thanks De

  6. Grace says:

    Filled with gratitude with the remains of the day ~ Loving this line: leaf-weave you a song. ~

  7. Mish says:

    So many lines to love…
    I like the tree’s offerings of friendship, secrets and unity.

  8. rosemawrites says:

    “and i will whisper you a secret
    or two, leaf-weave you a song”

    this is so beautiful. gentle. soothing. ❤ ❤ ❤

  9. I really love your tree… and how it loves to be a canvas for a carving.. we must have been thinking in similar ways.

  10. Sumana Roy says:

    a tree in all its entirety is always so giving….beautifully captured….

  11. oooohhhhh….. this made me melt a little. So much beauty here.

  12. This is special! I love the romance of it.

  13. I wish I’d written this one.

  14. Glenn Buttkus says:

    You hooked me, as well, with your /smudge of crow/–as I strain to guess the make-up of the smudge–droppings with a black feather in it, scratch marks in the bark on branches, beak pecking for insects–got me going; :).

  15. Imelda says:

    What a lovely tree you made here. 🙂

  16. rosross says:

    You have a deft touch – this smudge of crow is but one of many such touches.

  17. lillian says:

    …this smudge of crow… sigh
    You have such a way with words! The voice of this lovely tree calls to me. Beautifully done!

  18. Love this, De! ‘Leaf-weave’ is magical.

Use your words.

