Irony is the skin on a smallish dragon

..

Or slate. Or steely gray. Yes? Perhaps no.

Perhaps know
her name before you define
her, or the state of her skin.
Maybe get to know a girl
before you claim she breathes
fire.

Ay, me, but you’ve a way of
swaying the sky left of center.
Not quite right. Cloudy with
a chance of be
-wilderment. Don’t hold back
now, state your mind. Find

yourself. Kind of strange, the way these
storms become a stranded place
with
too
thick
skin.

 

 

..
Prompted by Frank’s irony thoughts over at dVerse today. Come play!  

 

 

This entry was posted in dragon poems, dVerse poems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Irony is the skin on a smallish dragon

  1. kim881 says:

    Have you ever read the poem ‘A Small Dragon’ by Brian Patten? Your poem reminded me of it. Here’s a link: http://www.poetryarchive.org/poem/small-dragon
    I should imagine
    a dragon
    would need some iron
    in her skin
    to keep the heat in.
    I love the title, De! and how true:
    ‘Perhaps know
    her name before you define
    her, or the state of her skin.
    Maybe get to know a girl
    before you claim she breathes
    fire.’

    • frankhubeny says:

      I liked Patten’s poem. On the literal level that dragon in his woodshed should be worth seeing if people believed it were there. If that dragon is something wonderful inside him he has the same problem with revealing it to others.

  2. rosemawrites says:

    “Perhaps know
    her name before you define
    her, or the state of her skin.”

    Wow. Wow. Love the message and how you presented it!

  3. Charley says:

    The essence of poetry when I first started reading it was “be-
    wilderment….” Now, after after classes, years of reading, and writing of the same…”be-
    wilderment” reigns. Your poem offers depth of meaning. Your poem offers depth of being.

    Well done.

  4. tsdwords says:

    De, Love that first stanza! Gave me goosebumps, so profound. ❤

  5. frankhubeny says:

    Very nice title. Although I tend to like dragons there is that bewildering fire breathing part. It’s hard to pet a dragon with thick irony skin, but that might be what one has to risk doing.

  6. A wonderful piece… a dragon is a great metaphor, which reminds me of a few situations I have been in… you learn to be careful playing with fire.

  7. Sherry Marr says:

    The title alone is perfection!

  8. Grace says:

    Beautiful…specially the title and that second stanza – with a bit of ambiguity ~

  9. I love that first stanza. Words to live by. Great title!

  10. hypercryptical says:

    A wonderful write – I do wish I’d wrote it…
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

  11. Just Barry says:

    This is great work. I echo the comments above…

    This line though…

    “Ay, me, but you’ve a way of
    swaying the sky left of center.
    Not quite right.”

    That is just killer. i let out a low “oof!” after reading it, like it hit me with a body-blow.

    Yup, I have writer’s envy! Nicely done.

  12. violet says:

    Excellent piece. I love how you slowed it down at the end (also making the contrast between thick and thin, going back to the title). Also that whole no/know section was very clever. My favorite, though, is the hidden “fire-eye me.” Also “Find yourself kind of strange.”

    This is the irony: “Don’t hold back
    now, state your mind.” … You don’t mean it at all. You want him/her to shut up.

    To properly use irony, you have to know what it is. To know what it is, you have to be at least somewhat smart. So I’m picturing the small dragon talking to the bigger, meaner dragon, saying “go ahead; bring it on,” but you’re not even really seeing me while you’re calling me names or telling me who I am. The big dragon fights with fire, the smaller with subtle wit.

    That line break after “de-fine” is everything here. Either the big dragon is calling De “fine” (as in hot, sexy), or saying, “Oh, you’re fine.” I could see this being about someone coming onto you (in an unwanted way) or about another mom, perhaps, minimizing your feelings, situation, concerns. Lots of scenarios are possible here. Well done.

  13. Great ending to wrap the irony up tight. Easy enjoyable read! ~peace, Jason

Use your words.

