Spangled Dragon

..

She longs for sparkles
and streamers and shine,
the fine fine sheen of
knowing. The flowing
of a tail that shimmers
in the setting sun.

She sings in syllables
of fire. Hums embers
loose, crimson fireflies
etching skyward. She
aches to be exquisite
in her own bright skin,
love the indigo she’s
in, embrace that swollen
moon.

She’s ska and skein of
saffron yarn, a yawn
the size of universe
and silence. She’s dawn
-ing and she’s falling
for the moment that
the earth spins just so.

She’s wrapped in silk
and silver string and
slumbered snow.

No need to wake her
now.
She’ll know.
 

..
Late to the party today over at dVerse. Lill has a fantastic prompt for us. Come play! 

 

This entry was posted in dragon poems, dVerse poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Spangled Dragon

  1. lifelessons says:

    Late to the party but worth the wait! Great poem.

  2. kanzensakura says:

    Just gorgeous. She’s wrapped in silk…oh my yes.

  3. Janice says:

    There’s much that I enjoyed in this…for example ‘she sang in syllables of fire’

  4. kim881 says:

    Second dragon of the prompt and I love her! I would like ‘ a tail that shimmers
    in the setting sun’ myself. I particularly enjoyed:
    ‘She sings in syllables
    of fire. Hums embers
    loose…’
    and
    … She
    aches to be exquisite
    in her own bright skin,
    love the indigo she’s
    in…’

  5. So beautiful, I especially love ‘the indigo she’s in’ 💖 xxx

  6. Sabio Lantz says:

    Ah imaginary critter, taking on imaginary human feelings in a surreal poem. Nicely done.

  7. lillian says:

    Oh….I LOVE this dragon! What a wonderful take on the prompt. So many words and images to love here….especially
    “skein of
    saffron yarn, a yawn
    the size of universe
    and silence”
    She’s a beauty! Am sooooo glad you added this to our posts. I think your dragon would like my imaginary friend, Namra, who I’ve written about several times. 🙂 They would be best friends I’m sure!

  8. Grace says:

    I love it…specially she is dawn-ing ~ Exquisite read this morning De 🙂

  9. hypercryptical says:

    Gorgeous words – just love them all. And she will know!
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

  10. frankhubeny says:

    I like how children imagine their dolls are alive and talk to them and some even have dragons to play with.

  11. Shawna says:

    Because of the word “streamers,” I’m picturing the “dragon” as a little girl’s bike. I think it’s “sleeping” because she’s not allowed to ride until the sun’s up. But when it’s time to head outside, they’ll both know.

  12. My mind skipped along the words in enthusiastic rhythm.

  13. I love a happy dragon… what a lovely one, but I guess she has a fiery breath.

  14. jillys2016 says:

    Ok, so I went dragon fly from the beginning and then reread with that in mind. I still have images of dragon flies. The beauty of poetry – each eye unique when the reader completes the circle. Lovely, De!

  15. Breathing fire and humming embers … she can be whatever she wants to be!

Use your words.

