The Paint I Ain’t.

..

 

I wish that I was hued in blue,
swirled in sapphire and song.

Perhaps I’d brush myself in turquoise,
too, cobalt all this skin I’m in
…………….(-digo)
until it’s cyan, self
-azured.

I am not peacock
-proud. I also am not
peri(wink)le.
…….Or plaid.
(That’s sad.)

I ain’t no saint.

But someday I’ll
paint my
………self
a blueberry scone.
an ocean wave.
a sky.
……..a dragon.

 

 

..
Fantastic prompt over at Toads today. Come play. 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in dragon poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Paint I Ain’t.

  1. kim881 says:

    I do love a poem with a De-ragon and wordplay! And I love the colour blue! So it’s a double whammy! I wish I was self-asured!

  2. Kerry O'Connor says:

    These lines have such a merry cadence – colourful in many senses of the word.

  3. Gorgeous!!❤️ I am literally swooning right now 😀 sigh… “a blueberry scone. an ocean wave. a sky……a dragon.” Oh yes!❤️

  4. Jim says:

    Hi hopes with a beautiful ending. All the nice things he/she ain’t right now.
    ..

  5. De-liciously upbeat blues in all their shades…and dragons too…woo hoo

  6. Any child of any age will love this bluesy poem

  7. Candy says:

    A lovely little blu(ette)

  8. Where’s my watercolors? This is adorable.

  9. WhimsyG thank you for participating in my prompt! You’ve created such a fun, colourful piece here. I love the last stanza especially – the idea of painting myself an ocean, a dragon! So much imagination. 🙂 Have a great weekend! -Stacie

  10. I really like the pattern of your poems and the almost rhymes
    “paint my
    ………self
    a blueberry scone.”
    Brilliant hue!

  11. I adore how you play with words! Pure talent. And so fun!

  12. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    You make me want to start painting too!

  13. frankhubeny says:

    If I could paint it would be dragons.

Use your words.

