Crying Over Boys

I’m down to just one thing, and I’m starting to scare myself…
– Something I Can Never Have, Nine Inch Nails

 

We’re on our way to Mexico. No, I’m not kidding. And yes, we’re a cliché. And there’s a Texaco in Calexico that has our name on it for a quick rest and a hot shower. And Nine Inch Nails is blaring loud and proud and Vicky’s got the top down on the jeep. You make this all go away…you make this all go away…And soon I will forget your name, and also my own, and dance on the beach in San Felipe and drink tequila shots and dance some more. I will let the sun bake you from my skin, and let the gulf wash away my own salt. Grey would be the color if I had a heart…

..

The moon sheds her skin
golden to a summer sea,
lost to aching sky.

 

 

..
Belated Haibun Monday over at dVerse. Catch the whole song here

 

 

This entry was posted in dVerse poems, moon poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Crying Over Boys

  1. I remember this song….

  2. frankhubeny says:

    I remember making a couple of road trips to Mexico and staying there for a combined period of nine months. It was probably a big mistake. That was the first time I heard Nine Inch Nails.

  3. much love for this-

    now I have to listen to Nine Inch Nails, it’s been awhile

  4. Mandie Hines says:

    I really loved this line, “I will let the sun bake you from my skin, and let the gulf wash away my own salt. “

  5. The right song so often plays at the right time to help us along our journey – ‘The moon sheds her skin golden to a summer sea’ conjures such a moving image xxx

  6. I love the sense of youth and freedom in travelling with the top down with blaring music…

  7. Shawna says:

    That is a KILLER opening: “We’re on our way to Mexico. No, I’m not kidding. And yes, we’re a cliché.”

    Tequila shots are the worst decision I have ever made. Never, ever do that. Ever. Ouch. Anything but tequila. 🙂 Surprisingly evil for sounding so much like “tickle.”

    “I will let the sun bake you from my skin” … Yes, the sun is the ultimate healer.

    The moon shedding its skin has me thinking about her being like a snake or an insect, ever changing, morphing, growing. And isn’t that the most haunting thing? ~To find her shell left behind, with no creature inside?

    • whimsygizmo says:

      “Surprisingly evil for sounding so much like ‘tickle.'”
      LOL. This cracked me up. My tequila days are looooooong gone.
      There may or may not have been some “body shots” on that trip. But I signed a nondisclosure. 😉

      • Shawna says:

        I have never done body shots. Want to be my first?

        Come to think of it, I’ve never actually crossed the border. I’m a Mexico virgin.

  8. Shawna says:

    Now I want to see the moon wearing different animal print outfits every night. 🙂

  9. Shawna says:

    Oh, and the title reminds me of that movie, Riding in Cars With Boys.

  10. Singledust says:

    memorable song and journey to a time to find solace in the physical only

  11. jillys2016 says:

    Wild! Sounds of regret and wilderness of the heart. Great mood piece 🙂

  12. colorfulpen says:

    Love this: “I will let the sun bake you from my skin, and let the gulf wash away my own salt.” Beautiful haiku. That’s a great NIN song. The piano is hauntingly beautiful.

  13. merrildsmith says:

    Well done. I love the rhythm of the paragraph that sounds kind of hectic and frantic, like I’m going to have fun no matter what. But then the haiku is lovely and poignant.

  14. kanzensakura says:

    I agree with with Merrildsmith….great haibun about losing ones’ self and also about finding oneself. The haiku at the end is beautiful. I liked this memory from you muchly.

Use your words.

