If He Catches You, You’re Through


Ah! There he is, my feathered speedy friend,
without a clue his life’s about to end.
I’ll hide behind this rockface over here
and watch him beeeeeeep on by, without a fear.

I’m wily, and I’m patient, so he’ll not
have even one clue that he is so nearly caught.
I’ll bide my time and bate both breath and hook
so as to catch this desert demon crook.

See, there he goes – just flying on his feet.
I’ll set a trap for him that’s both sound and discrete.
And if my first trap is at all unsure,
Some ACME dynamite I shall procure.

I’ll blow that damn bird straight to smithereens,
with a shower of feathers to cool this desert scene.
Is this the day I’ll get the revenge I seek?
Come! Bring an anvil. And stay tuned, next week!

Kim has us playing with dramatic monologues over at dVerse Poetics today. Not sure I followed all the rules, as meter and I are only very distant cousins, twice removed, but this sure was fun. 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to If He Catches You, You’re Through

  1. Mandie Hines says:

    Oh what fun. I loved this cartoon when I was young. And I knew from the moment I read “feathered speedy friend” exactly who you were talking about. 🙂

  2. Waltermarks says:

    I have Sooo always wanted to see the Roadrunner get his. Beep beep his butt. This is a riot. I love the references to Acme. When I read that, I knew who you were talking about

  3. kim881 says:

    This is great, De! I agree with Walter. That annoying bird deserves his come-uppance. I also love the references to Acme. I especially love the malice in the opening stanza – good old Wile E.!

  4. Ha.. we all know it never works for the poor coyote… I have actually seen a roadrunner once, but it was a bit disappointing.

  5. I remember that! Nice take.

  6. Marie Elena says:

    HA! A very different one for you, and you nailed it! FUN!
    Meepmeep!

  7. I don’t know the cartoon, but I can imagine the scene 🙂

  8. Bryan Ens says:

    This is fantastic! I always loved the roadrunner cartoons, so this piece was delightful!

  9. Kathy Reed says:

    Truly funny…and lively, De!

  10. frankhubeny says:

    I remember those roadrunner cartoons. The coyote’s brains and ingenuity were no match for that roadrunner’s luck.

  11. jillys2016 says:

    So much fun in the wording! I feel like it should be set to music. I had two heroes as a kid; the other one was pink and silent.

  12. Grace says:

    I love those cartoons De ~ Such fun to read them from the coyote’s point of view ~ Do these birds really run fast, I wonder, smiles ~

  13. Hah! The bird finally gets it. Love this, De!

Use your words.

