my own name, bounced right back

..

i asked a canyon
for answers, for some tangible
way to verify the things i know
to be true:

the sky is blue
up comes down
the world is round.

it answered me
in echoes. hellohello
and the staggered refrain
of my own small syllables.

 

..
Written for my own 
Quadrille prompt over at dVerse today. Come play! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to my own name, bounced right back

  1. Oh I love this… you have to ask the right way to get wisdom from a canyon…

  2. This is stunning 🙂 I love the exchange with the canyon ❤️

  3. Small syllables but echoed by a big canyon. Wonderful!

  4. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Imagine the thrill the astronauts had when shouting on the moon; wonderful illustration of your prompt, and delicious metaphor regarding transcendence & continuance of spirit.

  5. Canyons are not very good at providing answers, unless we already know the right answer ourselves. 🙂

  6. kim881 says:

    Ah, De, you’re a lady of the canyon! I particularly love the last stanza::
    ‘it answered me
    in echoes. hellohello…
    and the staggered refrain
    of my own small syllables’.

  7. frankhubeny says:

    I liked the idea of asking the canyon for tangible proof of what one knows to be true.

  8. Beautifully written!

  9. I love the way your voice becomes one with the canyon through the echoes, the way the answers always lie within :o) xxx

  10. jillys2016 says:

    The contrast of the grand and our smallness has a humbling feel in this poem, De. Superbly done!

  11. Oh, I do like this. Canyon as echo chamber.

  12. Very De! Great offering, Lady!

  13. An echo we know… So infuriating and profound at the same time. I like this, and thanks for the prompt!

  14. Grace says:

    And so it is De ~ Love the response of the echo ~

  15. Can you imagine how little kids would love this one? The little kid in me had fun with it.

  16. Janice says:

    Oh to have a canyon to go to….to experience ‘the staggered refrain’…

  17. Just Barry says:

    That is one grand echo!

  18. Singledust says:

    sometimes we need reassurance and when there’s no one there, i too go out and get my own from the echoes the universe sends back to me – i loved this so much – your words nuggets of truth

  19. ghostmmnc says:

    Seems we’re all looking for answers these days. I’d like to shout my questions and get answers in echoes! 🙂 So cool!

  20. Enjoyed the last two lines especially much.

  21. Waltermarks says:

    The canyon always answers me back. Oh wait, that’s still me. You answered the question well in the canyon’s echo.

  22. merrildsmith says:

    I love this–asking for wisdom from the canyon and the echoes back of small syllables in staggered refrain. Beautiful!

  23. Bryan Ens says:

    Ah the canyon. ..it only tells you what you want it to 🙂

  24. Bodhirose says:

    Such wisdom in the canyon…it gives back to you that which you seek. Love your last lines too!

  25. “for some tangible
    way to verify the things i know
    to be true”
    It made me smile 🙂 so sweet!

Use your words.

