good-enough moon heads to the hardware store


she’s feeling a bit sallow,
scooped a little shallow
of her form
-er self.

that’s okay. nothing
a few supplies
can’t fix.

aisle 6 provides a mirror or two
(she’s got some extra reflecting to do).

aisle 11 has soap
(she could use a good scrub).

aisle 3 holds seeds.

aisle 18 means her scars
are resealed.

aisle 13: cool shades
,
some hanging wire,
two shovels
and
a just-right spade
to plant a few days
in the star-soil
of her own soul.

..
This started as a soil poem for dVerse’s Tuesday Poetics, but it’s no wonder I couldn’t quite seem to finish it. What it really wanted to be was today’s list poem for Meeting the Bar. 😉 

 

This entry was posted in dVerse poems, moon poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to good-enough moon heads to the hardware store

  1. Clever! If I visited your hardware store, I’d head straight to the aisle that featured high-quality screws — mine seem to always come loose.

  2. Hope she finds it 🙂

  3. Nice. And nice when a poem suddenly falls into place for you. This is lovely.

  4. I’m so happy you saved it for today. Makes me want to go write poetry in Home Depot and then in the garden where there is plenty to write about.

  5. I noticed that my soil poem had a list too… and this works so fine, hope your garden blooms.

  6. jillys2016 says:

    I had to go back to the title to ponder all of this charming poem. Good enough is sometimes just not. Wonderful write!

  7. Truedessa says:

    I need to visit aisle 6 as well – I am feeling a bit reflective these days. This was a very creative approach.

    aisle 6 provides a mirror or two
    (she’s got some extra reflecting to do).

  8. Shawna says:

    I think you keep really good tabs on the soul-center of the moon.

    The title makes me think of a Sarah McLachlan song called “Good Enough.”

    I love this … especially the cool shades and the scrubs (“I don’t want no scrub; a scrub is the kind that can’t get no love from me”). Hee hee.

  9. Glenn Buttkus says:

    A lovely flowing metaphor; your title made me think of native American myths & 60’s acid tales. Glad to see that a second muse could assist you in completing the poetics.

  10. sanaarizvi says:

    My goodness this is absolutely exquisite, De!❤️ Especially love; “aisle 6 provides a mirror or two
    (she’s got some extra reflecting to do)” and “a just-right spade to plant a few days in the star-soil
    of her own soul.” You inspire me!❤️

  11. Your word mastery is impressive! Beautiful.

  12. Great poem. Love “…star soil of her own soul.”

  13. Waltermarks says:

    I like aisle 6, after a heartbreak a little reflecting time might be needed. Aisle 11 was good too. You didn’t use the shovel on your ex? lol

  14. frankhubeny says:

    Like a few of the others, I found the description of aisle 6 with the mirrors and the need to reflect very nice.

  15. colorfulpen says:

    This: “star-soil of her own soul.” Sigh. I’ve never enjoyed a trip to the hardware store as much as I enjoyed this one. Beautiful write.

  16. amazing De. Just amazing.

  17. Candy says:

    I love your moon poems, De

  18. ‘in the star-soil
    of her own soul.’

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE every word in this poem, De!

Use your words.

