Curiosity

It’s the sulfur snuff
of a candle burning
(out) at both ends, the lull
-aby hum of pickle-piqued
breeze.

Magenta-smooth,
it can also kill a cat
(just like that)
in less than
38 prickly
(tick-tock) 
seconds,

……………………flat.

..
Mish has us playing with sensory words and abstract thought, over at dVerse today. Come play! 

This entry was posted in dVerse poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Curiosity

  1. I’m going to watch out for pickle-piqued breezes! A fun “take” on the challenge.

  2. Shawna says:

    You crack me up, Girl. 🙂

    These are my faves:
    “It’s the sulfur snuff”
    “hum of pickle-piqued” (tee hee)
    “Magenta-smooth” (which of course has to do with Blues Clues)
    “(just like that)
    in less than
    38 prickly … seconds”

  3. Glenn Buttkus says:

    You snagged me with pickles & prick(ly)s. A nice illustration of abstract poetics; smile.

  4. Waltermarks says:

    You are definitely abstract tonight. Magenta smooth, it can kill a cat in 38 prickly seconds flat. Totally stumped me, but it sure makes me curious, good title

  5. sanaarizvi says:

    Oooh I love curiosity killed the cat reference here. Gorgeous write, De ❤️

  6. Grace says:

    My curiousity is piqued ~ I love the magenta smooth, and that closing seconds ~

  7. Poor cut.. that sulfur snuff really set a diabolic scene

  8. kim881 says:

    Wonderful sense-play, De! I love the ‘sulfur snuff / of a candle burning’ and ‘pickle-piqued
    breeze’. But I despair for the curious cat.

  9. Kathy Reed says:

    A bit of each of the senses…and a clever prose and haiku…have not heard of the particular breeze either 😉

  10. Very witty! Magenta-coloured. Interesting 🙂

  11. Janice says:

    Your poem piqued my curiosity…so fall of sensory images…ones I can taste and feel…I particularly like the prickly tick tock seconds.

  12. I love your ‘sulfur snuff’ – I’ll never look at our candles in the same way again ;o) xxx

  13. frankhubeny says:

    I guess one normally assumes that killing the cat somehow follows curiosity which seems reinforced by the snuffing out of a candle if that is what snuff referred to.

  14. What an incredibly fun poem. “Pickle-Piqued” Fantastic!

  15. I love everything about this De but you blew the (parenthesis) out of the water.Stunning.

  16. Mish says:

    Bravo! Love “magenta smooth”, “prickly seconds” and how you played with “flat” at the end.

  17. Magenta smooth? That conjures up an image. Nice one.

  18. I love this! The ending has such a snap to it and it seems to perfectly describe the subject.

Use your words.

