Lego Decisions

 

.. 

We’ve known all along that we are building something
from nothing, that each click together is all part of the

design. We know dropped bricks mean sore soles, and
that the instructions are long gone. We know the colors

only sometimes matter and the blocks that come in twos
are easy to find places for but the ones with more are

challenging. There’s a snap that happens when it all comes
together just right, and we’re waiting for it. Longing for it.

Abiding by the laws of architecture, and deciding to make
something of the scattered mess that’s here, in the meantime.

..
Prompted by 
Poetic Asides

 

This entry was posted in poetic asides poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lego Decisions

  1. bubbles says:

    Damn, De. I am INSANE over this poem. It makes me think of saving a family, a home, a marriage. And it makes me think of “Lego” as “Let go” … Let go [of] decisions.

    I don’t know about you, but sometimes I worry so much that I completely miss out on the enjoyment of life, and people. I have got to quit doing that. I really need to let go of constantly thinking about what decisions I have to make … and just live.

    Also, of course, it makes me think of the expression “Let go and let God.” I worry so much about what decisions I have to make that I don’t let God do His job.

  2. erbiage says:

    oo, lego!

    On Wed, May 31, 2017 at 6:24 PM, Whimsygizmo’s Blog wrote:

    > whimsygizmo posted: ” .. We’ve known all along that we are building > something from nothing, that each click together is all part of the design. > We know dropped bricks mean sore soles, and that the instructions are long > gone. We know the colors only someti” >

  3. lynn__ says:

    Love this one, De…gonna share with my youngest son, our resident Lego architect!

  4. How true. How much I could relate to this. Spun a thread of hope. To make something good out of the mess. The first line hits hard

Use your words.

