Holding Only Breath

..

Ah, silence.

The greatest violence
the morning alarm, the storm
of only her own unquiet skin.

A single-serve
sun also rises, and she
swallows it whole
just to sing its shine.

The melting moon her
only concern,
…….caller,
companion.

Her world, a sweeping sky.

..
Kim has given us a great 
Poetics prompt over at dVerse. Come play! 

This entry was posted in dVerse poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Holding Only Breath

  1. Ω says:

    Wow, the opening two lines are so powerful.

    Sometimes reading you makes me want to write. But other times, it makes me want to stop.

    You are a real poet.

  2. Glenn Buttkus says:

    It’s 86 degrees here near Tacoma, and I rushed out onto my redwood deck to swallow the sun (rain comes tomorrow) & sing its shine (to the tune of a Beatles medley). You perked me up, made me envious with your sweet word-smithing, and oddly craving a tangerine.

  3. You are a word magician! I enjoyed this so much.

  4. frankhubeny says:

    The title makes me think that breath is the only thing we have to hold. Everything else we just borrow.

  5. As someone who loves my alone time, this was a delicious poem.

  6. rosemawrites says:

    oh my. the imagery of this. we indeed hold our breath as we read your words cascade. 🙂

  7. mandibelle16 says:

    Beautiful descriptions and unique I like this 🙂

  8. maria says:

    Beautiful imagery indeed. I especially love these, ❤

    "A single-serve
    sun also rises, and she
    swallows it whole
    just to sing its shine."

  9. Sherry Marr9 says:

    Beautiful, topped off with a stellar closing line.

  10. Oh if only we could beat the terrible sound of that alarm – or morning news in my case. Sipping sunshine sounds so good.

  11. Sumana Roy says:

    Oh yes ‘violence’ indeed. Exact word for the alarm.

  12. kim881 says:

    Ah, De,
    you’ve conjured up
    a silent scene for me
    and left me breathless.
    I’m always up before
    the storm
    of morning’s unquiet skin
    and reading wonderful poetry
    like yours.
    The moon as the sun’s
    caller companion –
    that’s perfect!

  13. jillys2016 says:

    The title stands on its own! Once the poem is poured out, the title screams to be read again. Love this!

  14. Her world, a sweeping sky….lovely.

  15. Mish says:

    How whimsical of her…..”just to sing it’s shine”.
    Love this one, De.

  16. This speaks eloquently of finding your center, embracing it, and then the world. Just beautiful, De.

  17. lillian says:

    She swallows the sun whole to sing its shine……….I LOVE this! I wish I’d read this poem two days ago when it was a gloomy rainy day! I shall think of this everytime the weather forecast is for rain…and swallow that sun before it sets the night before! Wonderful post!

  18. mandibelle16 says:

    I love the image of her swallowing the sun. I get a very literal image of it and it makes me laugh. But it makes sense for her to do this robe happy too!

Use your words.

