The Heart of the Frog (Freshman Biology, Second Semester) 

We’re meant to carve it with a scalpel
out of the poor thing’s slimy chest, 

(along with liver, stomach, spleen)  

but I’m green myself at best
and turns out no amount 
of Charlie scent 
can mask the stench 
of formaldehyde. 

Mr. G just stepped outside to chat 
with Coach Loh, and that’s ok with me
because I’m a little dizzy – between 
the unfortunate frog 
and your 
      (dominant) 
baby blues 
across the room, 
wandering toward her
,
cutting me to the core. 

::
In April, she poems.

This entry was posted in April PAD 2024 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Heart of the Frog (Freshman Biology, Second Semester) 

  1. Debi says:

    Took me right back to biology class (except for the blue-eyed cad).

  2. erbiage says:

    Oh De this is magnificent! I love how such few lines carry the depth and weight of the world

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Kir Piccini says:

    I was 17 again…

Use your words.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.