pests&mystics(the magic of unquiet dragons) 

even as they sleep, they keep 
their embered breaths steady – 
ready to conjure magic with 
their curious slumber-smiles. 

we’ve come for miles to drink 
dew from their iridescent 
scales, find the startled spells
within and see what we can take. 

…but 
I can’t help but think they’re
gonna eat us when they wake.

::
In April, she poems. Sometimes, there be dragons.

This entry was posted in April PAD 2024, dragon poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to pests&mystics(the magic of unquiet dragons) 

  1. Shawna says:

    Gorgeous. I especially love that title and this section:

    “ready to conjure magic with 
    their curious slumber-smiles. 

    we’ve come for miles to drink 
    dew from their iridescent 
    scales”

    lol … Now I’m picturing this being about attending a Weight Watchers meeting. 🙂

    My mom and I went together when I was a child. We got all these little recipe cards and measuring tools (“see what we can take”).Silly, probably. But my mind can make the story work.

  2. Kir Piccini says:

    Be careful what you wish for my pretties…even domesticated dragons have claws.

    I want to grab a handful and still have a hand. 😉

Use your words.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.