Less Taken 

There’s a quiet breeze whirling 
west today and these boots 

are made for walking on cloud
nine while the sun is high 

in the sky and standing still. 
I feel like raising cane today. 

Hey, let’s throw away 
our maps and blaze a trail. 

::
It’s Quadrille Monday over at dVerse today, and Mish has a fun word for us. Come play!

This entry was posted in dVerse poems, Quadrille and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Less Taken 

  1. I love it, and walking without a trail is one of my favorite thing when place and time is right.

  2. msjadeli says:

    De you make me think of that old song, “Take to the sky on a natural high.” Quiet breeze in a blue sky is the best mind-altering substance I can think of.

  3. kim881 says:

    Your quadrille gives me the get up and go to get up and blaze a trail, De!

  4. rog says:

    I would love to join you but I need to get out into the wilderness first.

  5. Mish says:

    Such a fun and very clever blending of some familiar phrases….and it’s still DE-licious! I just love this.

  6. lillian says:

    Yes, Yes, Yes! I’m coming right with you!

  7. lifelessons says:

    I like your alternative approach to “blaze”!!!

  8. Ali Grimshaw says:

    Throw away the map and follow your heart. This is a perfect morning poem to get you going.

  9. rothpoetry says:

    Sounds like you are ready for action! A wild night in store!! Well done.

  10. Gillena Cox says:

    Wow! The start to a wonderful day quadrille

    much♡love

  11. Helen says:

    Well Pardner? I felt a wee bit like a cowgirl reading your quadrille!!! Loved it.

  12. Shawna says:

    I love all the extra information offered by the title. Robert Frost, of course, but also the idea of being less taken and less taken by someone, perhaps traveling/hiking (physically or figuratively) post-break-up, in addition to trying out new paths.

    fabulous twist of the phrase: “these boots are made for walking on cloud”

    maybe a new “like interest” … nothing committed, but something making you giddy

  13. YES! Let’s do that indeed! I love the tone of this piece, De!

    ~David

  14. I love how you pulled together all of these phrases and references in a way that feels fresh and adventurous. Great poem! 🙂

Use your words.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.