Shrapnel

She left pieces of her life behind her everywhere she went. It’s easier to feel
the sunlight without them, she said. – Brian Andreas

..

This poem is
my missing pieces.
The grief. The shame.
The same small dreams
I drowned in my own
salt. The regrets, the
frets and troubles,
the doubletalk and
triple-white-washed
lies. The futile tries
and the fruitless flail.

This poem is
a kite tail of ribboned
rage and page after
page after page after
page of words spilled
to will my shredded heart
to beat again.

It’s shard and
shred and wedge and
slab and slice
and scrap of
this
and
that;
some old photographs,
a tattered note. A rote
memory, rearranaged
to resemble something
that might someday

………….{sing.}

This poem is a thing
that no one sees, a tree
in a forest of too many
fallings and not enough
ears, the fear behind the
eye of the needle, the
center of the storm.

It’s warm
in its own bright blood,
a crimson trail of murmur
-murdered gore; more guts
than glory,
but enough stories
for a wayward sky.

This I,
this me,
this what’s-left we,
she’s streamlined
you see. Smaller.
Spit-shined. More
refined.

 

 

..
Prompted by Poetic Asides

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shrapnel

  1. erbiage says:

    This! The Last stanza especially, the whole thing builds and then there is that gentle explosion… Just fantastic, De

  2. Marie Elena says:

    When we first “met,” it never would have occurred to me that your writing could be any more expressive. Creative. Impressive. But you keep proving me wrong over and over and over.

  3. drnurit says:

    Superb! One of the very best among your many amazing poems. I am reading and re-reading: so real, so personal, so universal, so well crafted…

  4. lifelessons says:

    I have the quote that is at the beginning of this blog entry on a plaque on my studio wall–given to me by my sister and best friend when I moved to Mexico!!! They thought it described me, I imagine.

  5. lifelessons says:

    As for your poem, Wow!! Wonderful. It sweeps us along with it like a river of some unrecognizable fluid..in that your images and associations are so fresh and purely your own. One of many of your bests.

  6. whimsygizmo says:

    Thank you all so much. This one has received unexpected praise. Grateful heart.

    I LOVE the quote from Brian Andreas, always have.

  7. This is my new favorite of yours. It reads like someone tearing pieces off of themselves. Exquisite language! This poem is so amazing, I cannot separate out portions of it.
    I see that you get Story of the Day with Brian. That is the first thing I read each morning.

Use your words.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.