of Limbs, and Liquid Skin

..

O, Tree. I know the quiet ache
of leavings,
shedding selves.

I, too, have felt
bruised, used.

O, Ocean. I feel your heartbeat
under my own skin,
the ebb and flow of spring.

The scorch of sun.
The pull of moon.

O, Earth. I hold the buzz
of bee in the bumbled cage of my un
-quiet heart, this strangled birdsong
behind my own tired teeth.

Sorrow comes
with the knowing;
our bruisings,
our misusings.

For today, I will raise my arms
and float, let my voice fly
on fluid wings.

 

..

An attempt at ecopoetry, with gratitude to Grace over at dVerse.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to of Limbs, and Liquid Skin

  1. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Oh De, this is perfect! Especially love “let my voice fly on fluid wings.”
    Beautifully put ❤

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

  2. I simply love how you have expressed this feeling of nature inside… of sharing and being one.. so many great internal rhymes here, adding to the total

  3. De, you have captured so well the oneness we share with nature. This, for me, reads like a prayer. Very strong poetry. Exquisite.

  4. kanzensakura says:

    I agree with Victoria – exquisite. And this is how our relationship to nature should be – a prayer, an identification with share feelings, a merging of human, nature, spirit. Lovely. As usual, your word smithing is spot on.

  5. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Wordsmith, matriarch, mother earth, poet–all superb & essential. A strong & lovely & true reflection. Your fifth stanza is terrific, every word of it.

  6. ocean bones says:

    I especially love the under-layers that can be seen when you dress her down a bit.

  7. Grace says:

    Love the personification with tree, ocean and earth ~ This is a powerful prayer and this part moved me:

    Sorrow comes
    with the knowing;
    our bruisings,
    our misusings.

    This is perfect De 🙂

  8. Candy says:

    oh, you’ve made us all “feel” .
    well done!

  9. Mary says:

    I love that you address the earth, the tree, the ocean. I think if we picture ourselves communicating with them we will feel much more empathetic to their plight. Indeed how we abuse and misuse!

  10. Sherry Blue SKY says:

    Oh my goodness, I can’t tell you how much I adore this poem. Yes, you made us feel.

  11. Myrna says:

    Wow. This poem is wonderful. I love the end, I love it all. Your words meshed beautifully to give a sense of nature within us and of hope. Just Lovely!

  12. Beautiful! Powerful images. “let my voice fly / on fluid wings,” fantastic! Thanks for the smile in my heart. Cheers!

  13. Suzanne says:

    Yes, you make a very good point I think. Relating our own pain to that felt by the Earth is a way of identifying with it and developing greater awareness.

  14. Bryan Ens says:

    The alliteration in the stanza about the bee was so amazing I had to read it three times ☺

  15. Bodhirose says:

    I love the gentle yet powerful message and how you shared your own pain and trials with the Trees and Oceans…and your heartbeat. There really is no separation between us. Beautifully stated.

  16. kim881 says:

    There is a quiet ode-like rhythm in your poem, which soothes the pain of the message.

  17. lillian says:

    I love the rhythm of this……in addition to the words. I’m especially glad for the very positive decision to soar at the poem’s end. It is, after all, a personal decision that is needed….as one plus one plus another and another, deciding to soar….and that shall make the difference. Beautiful.

  18. ShirleyB says:

    I can only liken this work to a tiny box of jewels. Exquisite.
    ‘O, Tree. I know the quiet ache
    of leavings,
    shedding selves.’

    I connected the ‘Tree’ with ‘leavings – (leaves)’ Was that intentional?

  19. So poignantly put with such a mix of nature and feelings.

  20. Your poem causes me to draw a deep cleansing breath, de. SO amazing. ♥

  21. More Nature
    iN uS SinGs
    wE SonG
    Free..:)

  22. sreejaharikrishnan says:

    Totally liberating…. beautiful!

  23. Sumana Roy says:

    love this identification with Nature…”our bruisings, / our misusings”…..sigh…

  24. vbholmes says:

    “For today, I will raise my arms
    and float, let my voice fly
    on fluid wings.”
    A sensitive, positive ending after the soulful identification with nature. Lovely.

  25. HUMAN TOUCH says:

    Beautiful sync with nature. They can’t even brood!

Use your words.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.