Veritas (in)Vertebrae

(Still Mostly True)

 

..


B is for Bull
-dozer, bird by bird,
the rules
of the red rubber ball,
and writing
down the bones.

Something like magic,
orbiting the giant hairball
means you belong
……………….to me.

Teach me
sandscript,
dog music,
how to train your dragon,
where water comes together
with other water, the song
of myself. The art of
breathing water. The best
yes. Falling together, falling
………………………………….up.

Paint me in poemcrazy
Tahoe blues, a wrinkle
in time, the persistence
of yellow, and finding
what you
………….didn’t lose.

Connect the stars,
the missing piece.
Something big
has been here.

And
somewhere {small}
in leaves of grass,

a blackbird sings.
..
A book spine poem, NaPoWriMo, day 10.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Veritas (in)Vertebrae

  1. lifelessons says:

    Lovely, lovely. I was mislead by your labeling it Day 4, however, and went back to see what the prompt was on day four. On second reading, I saw immediately that it was written to today’s prompt, but I think you should take it as a clear sign of the success of the poem that I didn’t recognize the poetry titles until the second reading because I was wrapt and wrapped in the poem itself.

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Sorry ’bout that. There’s a weird little number at the end of NaPo’s links, for some reason. Today I accidentally pulled the 4 from there. Thanks for catching it; it’s fixed now.
      And thanks so much for your kind comment. 🙂

      • lifelessons says:

        That’s the only reason I mentioned it. I so often get mixed up on the links or have problems locating the correct one on prompts and always appreciate people pointing out that I’ve used the wrong one so I figured you might want to know. Again, want to reiterate how much I enjoyed your poem and look forward to the next one!

  2. Kiana Donae says:

    Wow, love the way you did this prompt. Thanks for stopping by my blog too. #LoveandInk

  3. julietwilson says:

    very creative approach to the prompt,

    Juliet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

  4. This is wonderful. I especially like your title! You’ve woven your piece together well. Fun to see some of my “friends” in there! 🙂

  5. love it – it makes me smile

  6. Bryan Ens says:

    Great spine poem 🙂

  7. Wonderful! And you used two titles that I used: “Bird by Bird” and “Falling Up.” Great minds think alike.

  8. Your spines are seamless!

  9. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 10 – “Soul Music The Colour Of Magic” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Use your words.

