Important Overdue Notes to My Oblivious Former Selves

..

Don’t
do
it.
Just don’t. It’s not worth it. It won’t be worth it.

Don’t
say
that.
Just listen. Your mama knows what she’s talking about.

Don’t
love
him.
Just don’t. He’ll ruin you. You might have been ready, but he wasn’t.

Don’t
say
I do.
Just don’t. He won’t mean it. He already doesn’t.

Don’t
fight
back.
Just don’t. That hole in the wall could be your face.

Don’t
be
afraid.
Just leave. Just breathe. It’s all gonna be okay.

 

..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Important Overdue Notes to My Oblivious Former Selves

  1. Shawna says:

    It’s been a while since I’ve noticed you writing about him. I kind of miss those poems when they don’t come around anymore. So thank you for this one.

  2. Oh, wow! This took me back. Wish my mom could’ve read this all those years ago.
    Thanks!

  3. trishwrites1 says:

    Just when I think I have my favorite of yours – you go and write something like this. Thanks for stopping by my blog and your encouragement during PAD- your poems are the bright spot in my inbox and inspire me – seriously- in my own writing

Use your words.

