Urban Sands

..

Some days we’re all just right
broken.

So when I get out of these
concrete lands, sink my
toes and my soul in(digo)deep,
I try to keep a little sprinkle
in a secret pocket some
-where for a not-so-rainy
desert day, to unwrinkle
a brow, upturn a frown.

It’s fairy dust if you let it
be, these shattered bits
of shell and sea, and if
you listen very close, you
can still hear the silence.

 

..
Day 7 for the Poetic Asides April PAD Challenge. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Urban Sands

  1. PSC says:

    Oh! Love this, De!

  2. You are an inspirational poet – have you published?

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Thank you so much, Maureen. I have published in journals and the like, but not yet my own chapbook or book. I only have the right side of my brain, the side that loves to write. No left – the side required for organization, etc. 😉 But I’ve just recently won a (manuscript) chapbook challenge over at Poetic Asides, and am feeling like I should definitely figure it all out and step up.

  3. shawna says:

    Brilliant opening line break.

Use your words.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.