Darker Sides

Better go back home, where you belong. – The Temptations 

 

..
..
Follow me, I know a place to run;
a place to leave our hearts and tuck away.
See that moon? There’s a small child
on the other side, finding herself running
toward the ebony sky. Embracing darkness, wild.

..

A golden shovel poem for dVerse. The last words of each line form the title of a hits song the year I was born: Run Away Child, Running Wild, by the Temptations.

 

 

This entry was posted in dVerse poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Darker Sides

  1. What a clever way to hide the song title within your poem! I’m impressed!

  2. frankhubeny says:

    I remember The Temptations although I don’t remember this song, but it sounds pretty good.

  3. colorfulpen says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard this particular song by The Temptations. It’s fun discovering and rediscovering these tunes. And I agree with Bev, very clever way to include the song title.

  4. welshstream says:

    That’s a gem of a poem and nicely done to script out the song title like that!

  5. lillian says:

    I just Googled the title, saw the album cover Cloud Nine, and listened to the song. Like many I’m sure, I’m very familiar with the song that sky rocketed on the charts from this album, “I Heard it Through the Grapevine” but did not remember this one….even after listening to it. We saw the Temptations live when I was in grad school and they were fabulous in their suits and with their back-up moves. It was interesting to read in the explanation of the album, that this song you mention here was the first “socially driven” song….and once reading that, and listening to it, it adds a lot of layers to your poem here…including the title, the ebony sky and embracing darkness and wild. This is a really special write for the prompt. Thanks so much for posting!!! Really enjoyed this one. And I do agree with others, to put it into a Golden Shovel poem added to the intricacies and layering of the post.

  6. A beautiful golden shovel poem De, I did not know this song either xxx

  7. Shawna says:

    I love this:
    “See that moon? There’s a small child
    on the other side”

  8. Waltermarks says:

    That reminded me of another song, “I think we’re alone now”, by Tommy James and the Shondells. I like the setting, the young couple running away to the wild, and of course a great way to hide the title. I liked the Temptations, they were a great group, thanks

  9. Beautiful poem De. I’ll need to check the song out. Rings a distant bell.

  10. kanzensakura says:

    I remember this song, and the album well. I played it constantly.

  11. Candy says:

    Love the Temptations – ‘a place to tuck our hearts’ love that line. This is super.

Use your words.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.